In my beauty bag: Jennifer Morgan

Award-winning stylist Jennifer Morgan is the hair colour queen at her popular Auckland salon Morgan & Morgan Urban Retreat. Besides great hair, we found out what else is essential to keeping her looking vibrant.

1453256088304a

SKIN
I use Ultraceuticals MD range, and I use everything that I can to help my skin be at its best. My routine includes around eight different products (brightening serum, refining serum, firming serum, hydrating serum, eye cream…). I am completely obsessed with their products and a true believer in the benefits

With as many tattoos as I have sunscreen is an absolute essential. I use Ultraceuticals Sun Active SPF50+ Face Cream and SunActive SPF 50+ Clear Body Spray.

I love, love, love getting a facial but my schedule doesn’t allow me to have one as often as I would like. The last facial I had was amazing, at Chrysalis Beauty in Browns Bay.

I believe in great skincare products, lots of water, healthy eating, lots of laughter and the assistance of a really great cosmetic appearance medicine professional!

MAKEUP
I got into blue eyeshadow at about age 12. Sadly I wasn’t a natural but over the years I have learned a few tricks

I use Ultraceuticals Tinted Moisturiser every single day. It’s my ‘most of the time’ foundation as it gives enough cover and it is SPF30. I am a huge fan of the Hourglass range (from Mecca Cosmetica) and I use their foundation when I want a more polished look and then their powders. Hourglass is all about light diffusion and I am in love with Dim Light for all over and then Ethereal Light for highlighting. I have a gorgeous Sephora Eye colour palette that I use for eye makeup. For lips I have about five different shades in the MAC Patent Polish Lip Pencil range. I love the combination of colour and shine and it lasts for hours which is great in my line of work

I always keep Lancome Miracle Cushion Compact, Hourglass Icon Lipgloss, MAC Hopelessly Devoted Lip Pencil and Aveda Blue Oil Roller Fragrance in my handbag.

1453256088304

HAIR

I have more hair products than anyone can imagine. I appreciate the importance of great care and styling products if you want beautiful hair. I use Redken Blonde Idol Shampoo, Conditioner & BBB Spray, plus Redken Extreme Primer and Treatment. To keep my hair pink, I have a conditioner from the Evo Fabuloso range and every now and then I will do an Olaplex#3 treatment.

I am relatively low-maintenance with my hair. I use really good products, treat it at home regularly and have an in-salon ritual every month or so. My colour needs to be touched up every eight weeks or so, but beyond that I don’t worry too much.

I have every styling tool around but generally I blow dry my hair and that’s about it. I am really lucky that my hair styles well so I don’t need to spend a massive amount of time on it

NAILS

I don’t get manicures but I use Revitanail religiously. Because of my work my nails take a bit of a battering and I find that makes a massive difference. I get a pedicure every month! I love having someone else take care of my feet. It’s my only regular pampering. I always go bright – generally pink or red.

FRAGRANCE & BODY

At the moment my signature scent is Comme des Garcons Black, but I wear other fragrances as well. I am a huge fan of Jo Malone particularly the Orange Blossom. Over the years I’ve worn D&G Anthology L`Imperatrice 3, Dior Dolce Vita, Narciso Rodriguez and Jo Malone.

I love Pure Fiji body lotion, shower gel and cream scrub

LIFESTYLE

At the salon we have a saying which is ‘beauty lies within’ and I absolutely believe that. To me, beauty comes from the inside and it’s about being generous and kind and having sense of humour and compassion for others. I work in the beauty industry and I love taking the time to look after myself but I would hope that it’s not what defines me, or how people perceive me. I would rather people thought of me as a good person that a beautiful one.

When travelling, I don’t drink when I fly and I try and get as much sleep as I can. I use a great Shiseido product Pure Retinol Express Smoothing Eye Mask. It makes the most amazing difference at the end of a long flight!

I spend a lot of time in Los Angeles so most of my beauty buying is at Sephora. It’s the ultimate candy store for girls who love beautiful things!

I equate ‘beauty icon’ with ‘girl crush’ – some woman just have something that is unique and alluring that attracts your eye. I have a slightly electric style and so my beauty icons tend to represent that. Right now, with her untamed braided hair, natural eyebrows and nose ring and henna tattoos, it’s FKA Twigs.

The one product I can’t live without is concealer. Specifically By Terry Touche Enlightening Concealer Brush.

I always think if your hair looks great then it really doesn’t matter what you wear or what your makeup looks like. A great blow dry makes you look and feel fabulous and makes a clean face and a casual outfit look uncomplicated and chic.

A beauty mistake from my past was that one time in my early twenties when I thought a full-head, platinum bleach and a perm would be a great idea.

If I could wave a magic wand, it would be great if they never discontinued my favourite lipstick shades.

The beauty product that needs be invented is something that actually “reduces the visible signs of ageing”. Like really truly made all the lines go away and lifts, tightens and firms like young skin. Whoever invents those products will make a fortune.