Star Staff

STYLE DIRECTOR

Casey Kenny

What is one thing that your clients (and the M2 team) don’t know about you that you are happy to share with us?

I would love to work for a charity in a third world country caring for families who have been effected by war or poverty.

What got you into hairdressing in the first place?

I found after studying communications at uni that it wasn’t where my passion lay, I was always really interested in fashion and hair……took a job at M2 as an assistant 9 years later I’m still here with my family

What emerging or current fashion trends are you looking forward to this summer?

I’m really looking forward to colour and seeing more 60’s trends around, it is my favourite era so fits my style very well.

What advice to do give your clients to make sure their hair stays in great condition

TREATMENTS TREATMENTS TREATMENTS!!!!!!! my clients are used to my lectures about their hair care at home and in salon (I can be a bit bossy hahaha). Regular trims and not too much heat torture.

What is your prediction for the hottest hair looks for the summer?

60’s bob, long blunt styles with soft dressed out movement. Where there is bold colour its very bold, were there is soft colour its very natural. Texture will be shown through dressing of the hair not really through really textured layers.

If you were going on a summer holiday and could only take 6 things with you…what would they be?

Sun block, mouth wash, togs, towel, a never ending supply of good wine and some one really fun!!!!

What advice do you give to your clients every time to make sure there hair looks hot in between salon visits?

Making sure they are doing weekly strengthening/ hydrating treatments and using the correct shampoo and conditioner for what their hair needs at that time. Also explaining how and what to use to their hair when styling and finishing,

If you were not a hairdresser, what else would you like to do?

I would like to be a zoo keeper or again work for a charity ( I would also have won lotto by now too).

What are your ‘sure-fire’ tips for shiny hair?

Tips for shiny hair………RX treatments( rebuild elasticity and strength in your hair up to 75-80% in one application) in between haircuts and after colour. Always always using a good pre blow waving foundation before drying and using a heat protection before ironing ( avoid ironing out your hair everyday).

Do you have any other hobbies or passions outside of the hair industry?

Music and travel. I have just come back from Europe………I will tell you all about it when you come in next x